All across the web, you see links to legal terms. By completing the form, logging in to the app, or continuing to browse the site, you are thereby accepting those legal terms. You'll find three major flavors of approaches to presenting legal terms. People call them browsewrap, clickwrap, and sign-in wrap.

Browsewrap, Clickwrap, and Sign-in wrap

When it comes to the Contracts you present on your websites and apps, you have three presentation approaches. Your customers can accept your legal terms by:

  • simply accessing or browsing your site, also known as "browsewrap"
  • selecting a checkbox or clicking a button, an approach knows as "clickwrap"
  • creating or logging in to an account, better known as "sign-in wrap"

Below are some examples from companies all across the web using these different approaches in how they present their terms.

Example 1: Browsewrap. Notice the little banner in the bottom middle. Users can click the banner to see the legal terms that they must abide by when using the site.

Example 2: Clickwrap with scroll. In this example, the user can scroll through the entire Terms and Conditions and then clicks the I Agree button at the bottom. 

Example 3: Clickwrap with a checkbox. On the site below, there's no scroll bar and no special I Agree button. Instead, the user selects the checkbox and then continues with the task they were doing already. 

Example 4: Sign-in Wrap. In this example, the user doesn't have to click any buttons or select any checkboxes. Instead, just by completing the action they were already doing, they agree to the terms. Of course, the user can always click the link to read the text of the Contract at any time.

PactSafe supports all of these approaches. The approach you use for your terms is totally up to you, but we do have recommendations if you don't know where to start. If you'd like our help, just start up a chat session and we'll jump on it!

Note: By default, when a user checks/accepts the Contracts, a real-time call will be made to PactSafe specifying that your customer has accepted the terms. If your customer unchecks the box, we log a "disagreed" event in real-time.

Did this answer your question?